Springtime Interlude; A Poetry Collection

Nonsense
Whisper softly into my ear
Speak nonsense
And of silly things
Then I’ll know
It’ll all be okay


Please
The lights are off
The night is silent
I can feel your heartbeat
Against my skin
I feel the pace
Of mine pick up

The thought
Of holding you close
Every night like this
Pull me closer
Please never let go


Empty
The air has faded
Empty house
Empty lungs
Barricaded in
Leave me here
To gather dust


Shreds
Crumpled up paper
Torn asunder
Into shreds
Cast away
Imagination and wonder
Collapsing in on itself
On the raging fire


You and I: Part I
You said to me
“You’re the only one”
And I gave you my time
My heart
My love
But despite everything I gave
You threw it all in my face
And I tried everything
To get rid of the pain
But no amount of distractions
Or diversions
Stopped me from crawling straight back to you
Every single time you asked
Until finally
When it was up to me
I just threw it all away
And ran


Dreaming
Once again
She finds herself dreaming
Of standing on the stage
Harmonising once again with him
It’s as if the crowd is gone
And there’s no one else
But the two of them
And for one moment
She is at peace
But then she wakes up
And remembers
He is gone


Wide Awake
We drank
And we danced
And shared a kiss at last

Wide awake
We didn’t sleep
Until the sun rose
And we saw the light again
Bringing our one night
To its bitter end


Stay
And today
All you did was wake up
And that’s enough
Because you’re still here

So stay


Clock
Tick, tock
Tick, tock
The repetitive sound
Of the grandfather clock
Only something was amiss

She pondered it
How could the clock
Count the seconds still
When it’s face
Had been battered
The glass now shattered
A mess of clockwork and Roman Numerals

Tick, tock
Tick, tock…

It couldn’t possibly be the clock

Maybe instead
It came from the shadow
Hiding under her bed…

Tick, tock

Tick…


You and I: Part II
I sit here in bed
With her cuddled up next to me
And I can’t believe
All the days I wasted
Running back to you
When this love I now have
Was waiting for me